The Tyranny of Learning Objectives

The Tyranny of Learning Objectives

Inside:

1. A story

2. What is backward design?

3. How did we get here? Some history

4. The takeaway

PS: some other taxonomies


One day during my teaching years at the University of New Hampshire, I found myself in a department faculty meeting - I think it was a curriculum committee, one of my rare service assignments as a non-tenure track lecturer. My colleague leading the meeting announced that we'd been ordered by the dean to identify learning objectives for every one of our courses in the department. His tone, and the response from the room, suggested that this was a cruel and unusual punishment.

A few years later, in the early months of the pandemic, I briefly worked as an instructional design consultant for an ed tech company. Each of us was assigned a group of professors. In my onboarding with the company, I learned that our procedure began with identifying learning objectives for each course overall. Then, in our meetings with the professor over several weeks, we would go through each week or "unit" in the course and identify the learning objectives for that week, and align them with the learning objectives for the course overall. Then we'd map out assignments and tests, a.k.a. "deliverables," aligned to the unit learning objectives.

And then my supervisor showed me an infographic that blew my mind:

Bloom's Taxonomy
Bloom's Taxonomy, from the Vanderbilt University Center for Teaching

When I sat in that curriculum meeting at UNH, I had been teaching in higher ed for about 6 years, including my years as a graduate student instructor (at which time I earned a Certificate from the Center for Teaching and Learning for attending pedagogy workshops). At no point had I ever been introduced to Bloom's Taxonomy, which dates to 1956 and was updated in 2001 and represents a larger movement, backed by cognitive psychology, away from rote memorization in schooling. I seriously doubt that I was alone in this, at my institution or in my field, although maybe things have changed since then.

In fairness, Bloom's Taxonomy made immediate sense to me: lower-level courses are more about mastering basic information, but as you get more advanced in a subject, you should be able to do more than regurgitate facts. In Latin, you have to remember vocabulary and noun declensions and verb conjugations at the intro level, but eventually you're also going to have to apply that knowledge in reading. And if you go to grad school, you'd better be ready to analyze texts with complex thinking. So on that level, I didn't really need Bloom's Taxonomy after all.

But in that curriculum committee meeting, it sure would have expedited the process of designating learning objectives for our whole catalog of courses if the dean had simply attached Bloom's Taxonomy to her email about the new mandate. Funnily enough, our administration had failed to align their deliverables with our learning.

In my consulting gig, thanks to my committee experience, I knew that asking professors to identify learning objectives might be taken as an act of war, so I talked around it: what are the top three ideas that you want students to take away from your course? When they show up later in an upper-level course, what should they already know if they've taken this one? As they talked through this, I took notes and used Bloom's Taxonomy to translate what they were saying into the action verbs we needed for our instructional design templates. "It won't be that bad," I promised them.

What is backward design?